PM Narendra Modi’s speech at Madison Square Garden, New York

Prime Minister Narendra Modi, in a saffron jacket, got a full-house reception on Sunday at New York’s Madison Square Garden, a venue that rock stars dream of packing with a sell-out audience. He thanked the crowd of about 18,000 Indian Americans who constantly chanted his name, for the rousing welcome. modi-main10modi59 Here are the highlights of his speech:

  • Prime Minister Narendra Modi arrives at Madison Square Garden
  • Kavita Krishnamurthy sings the national anthem
  • Mr Modi begins his address with ‘Bharat Mata ki Jai’
  • My greetings to you on the occasion of Navratri. I am fortunate to have this opportunity to meet you on such an auspicious occasions
  • India used to be known as a country of snakes and snake charmers
  • It is only because of you (Indian-American community) that we have made such a huge progress
  • If not for you all,there wouldn’t have been an IT revolution
  • You (Indian-American community) have earned a lot of respect in USA through skills and values
  • Through your actions and values you have earned immense respect
  • I visited Taiwan once and an interpreter said your country has been a land of snakes and snake charmers
  • I said ‘No, we have been vastly under-valued. Our ancestors used to play with snakes, we play with mouse.’
  • Many of you didn’t get a chance to vote, but when the results came, not one of you must have been sleeping
  • Many of you were involved in the election process
  • You may not have voted in 2014 but when results were coming in, you celebrated
  • Today, I am here to thank you all
  • You have a huge contribution in building India’s image.
  • Winning an election is not just about post or chair, it’s a responsibility
  • I haven’t taken a 15-minute break since I took over.
  • For the first time in 30 years, a party won a clear majority in India
  • Even the opinion makers could not make an opinion
  • You all have several expectations from India. Even the people of India are expecting a lot from our government.
  • We will be successful in fulfilling the aspirations of people
  • The world is convinced that 21st century belongs to Asia
  • We are a youthful nation with a very old culture. 65 per cent of Indians are below the age of 35.
  • There is no reason to be disappointed. India will progress very fast and the skills of our youth will take the country ahead.
  • When 125 crore people give their blessings, it automatically becomes God’s blessing.
  • We have three powers that nobody else has, and it is our duty to identify these powers, present it to the World and mobilise it: Democracy – This is our biggest strength. Even the poorest man went out in the heat to hear speeches Demographic dividend – 65% of people less than the age of 35 years Demand – The World is looking at India
  • Democracy is India’s biggest strength
  • The whole world is looking at India. No country has the strengths that India has.
  • I am confident India will achieve new heights
  • America is the oldest democracy in the world. India is the biggest democracy in the world.
  • People from around the world have settled in America. People from India have settled across the world.
  • It is our endeavour to make development a people’s movement
  • If the nation has to progress then good governance is essential
  • I may be thousands of kilometres away, but I understand your troubles and problems
  • If you look at India’s history, so many great leaders have sacrificed their lives
  • Mahatma Gandhi made the freedom struggle a mass movement. Every Indian felt that yes, I am also a part of the freedom struggle. We want to make development a mass movement.
  • The people of India are my strength
  • In days to come, we will be able to supply work force to the world
  • The world needs teachers, we will supply teachers
  • The world will have to recognise the talent of the Indian youth
  • In Ahmedabad, you spend Rs. 10 to travel 1 kilometre in a rickshaw
  • We traveled 65 crore km to Mars, and spent Rs. 7 a km
  • This is our talent
  • And America and India are also talking on Mars… US reached on the 22nd, India on the 24th
  • India is the first nation to have reached Mars in its first attempt
  • Our Mars budget was smaller than the budget of a Hollywood film
  • We have given importance to skill development. We created a separate ministry for skill development.
  • We are focusing on skill development. We started the jan dhan yojna.
  • We said we will start zero balance accounts, but people started it with a total sum of Rs. 1500 crore
  • I invite you to come ‘Make in India’
  • If you want human resources and low-cost production, then India is your destination. I invite you to the Make in India initiative
  • We aim to show our strength by exploiting technology to the maximum extent
  • I have a website MyGov. I have made arrangements for you to interact with me.
  • I request you all to look at MyGov. Please visit the website and see how you can get involved.
  • The earlier government spoke only of what laws they have made
  • I have begun removing obsolete laws
  • The more laws we get rid of the better it will be for us
  • Government officers reaching on time was news to the people of India. But such were the conditions.
  • People may wonder whether this is a Prime Minister’s duty, but I have decided to construct toilets in the country
  • People ask me about my ‘bigger vision’
  • I tell them I reached here by selling tea, I am a simple man, so I focus on small things
  • Will you help me clean Ganga?
  • People ask me why I am taking up such difficult tasks
  • I tell them that I wasn’t made the PM to solve easy problems
  • Cleaning Ganga is not only for religious reasons, it is also the tackle the climatic problems
  • Mahatma Gandhi never compromised on cleanliness. He gave us freedom. We should give him a Clean India.
  • In 2022, it will be 75 years of our independence.. it is an important landmark in Indian culture… I have a dream that by 2022, there should be no one in India without a roof over his head.
  • Mahatma Gandhi was an expatriate who returned to India. It will be 100 years of that event next year. Pravasi Bahartiya Divas will be held in Ahmedabad this time.
  • PIO card holder have lot of visa issues. We have decided they will get life-long visas.
  • The PIO and Overseas Citizenship of India (OCI) schemes will be combined.
  • Long-term tourist visas will be introduced for US citizens. The American tourists will get visa on arrival.
  • Those who stay in India for a long time had to report to police stations. They will not have to do so.

modi58 modi117 P.S. This article has been copied from http://www.ndtv.com

About Dr. Nikhil Aggarwal

I am a doctor by profession, resident of Gurgaon, Haryana. I want to enjoy every moment of my life and face the challenges as they come. In my view traveling is one of the best ways to detoxify our mind, body & soul. Wherever I go I try to explore the destination as much as possible. Recently, I have started writing and sharing my experiences & knowledge through my blog.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

