Significance of the Ashoka Chakra

ashoka-chakra_19-129549The Ashoka Chakra is a depiction of the Dharmachakra represented with 24 spokes. Ashoka Chakra is also present in the centre of Indian National Flag where it has replaced the Charkha(the spinning wheel) of the pre-independence version of the Indian Flag.


Reason for 24 spokes on the Chakra:

According to Hindu religion, Puranas mentioned that only 24 Rishis wielded the whole power of the Gayatri Mantra. These 24 rishi in Himalayas are represented through the 24 letters of Gayatri Mantra. The all the 24 spokes of Dharmachakra are representation of all these 24 rishi of Himalayas in which Vishvamitra is first and Yajnavalkya is last who governs the religion (Dharma).

Ashok Chakra is symbol of Dharmachakra and also known as Samay Chakra in which all the 24 spokes represented 24 hours of the day and symbol of the movement of the time.



About Dr. Nikhil Aggarwal

I am a doctor by profession, resident of Gurgaon, Haryana. I want to enjoy every moment of my life and face the challenges as they come. In my view traveling is one of the best ways to detoxify our mind, body & soul. Wherever I go I try to explore the destination as much as possible. Recently, I have started writing and sharing my experiences & knowledge through my blog.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s